NICS Real
NICS Real is the part of Norway's interbank clearing system that carries instant payments, the straksbetalinger that reach another bank's customer within seconds. The banks' infrastructure company Bits owns it, Mastercard runs it, and the money is settled at Norges Bank. You never sign up for it: it moves the money when you send a friend kroner in Vipps at another bank, or tick "straksbetaling" in your online bank. In 2025 it handled 209.9 million payments worth NOK 135.2 billion. Some banks charge for an instant payment above NOK 5,000.
| Country | Norway (NO) |
| What it is | The instant-payment leg of NICS, the Norwegian Interbank Clearing System: each payment clears at once against money the banks have set aside at Norges Bank |
| Run by | Bits AS (system owner, under a Norges Bank licence); operated by Mastercard Payment Services Infrastructure; settled in Norges Bank's system, NBO |
| Since | Instant payments since 2013; NICS Real with secured settlement since 2020; ISO 20022 messages for every bank since June 2023 |
| Cost to you | Free at Sbanken; free under NOK 5,000 at DNB and SpareBank 1 Sør-Norge, then NOK 75 / NOK 50; Handelsbanken NOK 7.50 / NOK 85; Vipps free between people up to NOK 5,000 a day to one person |
| Typical limit | No scheme maximum since 2020 (it was NOK 500,000); banks and Vipps set their own, e.g. KLP NOK 10,000 a payment |
| Reaches | Accounts at practically every bank in Norway, in kroner only; no link abroad yet |
| Code on paper? | No. NICS Real has no code; the Vipps QR code is the code most likely to lead to it |
How NICS Real came to Norway
Norwegian banks clear payments to each other in NICS, the Norwegian Interbank Clearing System. Norges Bank licenses Bits, the financial industry's infrastructure company, to run it and supervises it. Bits has outsourced the technical operation to Mastercard Payment Services Infrastructure (MPSI) [7], and final settlement happens in Norges Bank's settlement system, NBO [2]. NICS has three streams: batches netted several times a day (NICS Netto), single large payments (NICS Brutto) and instant payments (NICS Real) [8].
- 2013: Straks 1.0. Instant payments started in 2013, and the Eika Group banks were the first to use them [6]. Payments were credited at once, but the banks settled them later in an ordinary net batch, which carried "a certain settlement risk" [13]. A payment could not exceed NOK 500,000 [11].
- 2020: Straks 2.0 and NICS Real. Bits' new rules for instant payments with secured settlement came into force on 6 January 2020 [10]. NICS Real went into pilot in January 2020, and every bank had to be able to receive these payments by 15 June 2020. Bits said then that the new solution would lift the NOK 500,000 cap and all but remove settlement risk between banks. In November 2019 Norwegian banks made more than 12 million instant payments [11]. The Nordic central banks describe it the same way: in 2020 Straksbetaling "was replaced by NICS Real", where funds are secured before the payee is credited [16].
- 2022–2023: Straks 2.1, ISO 20022. Bits' board decided on 28 November 2019 to move instant payments to ISO 20022 formats, so that banks could send them straight to NICS Real and the old messaging hub, Straks FOI, could be closed [12]. The pilot started in June 2022 with SpareBank 1 and Eika, migration began in September 2022, and the last bank moved in June 2023, after which Straks FOI was shut down [14].
Use grew fast and then levelled off. Norges Bank's figures [1] [2]:
| Year | Instant payments | Value | NICS Real, per day |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2018 | 58.1 million | NOK 4.1 billion | |
| 2020 | 153.6 million | NOK 84.6 billion | 333,255 |
| 2022 | 213.2 million | NOK 129.8 billion | 583,183 |
| 2024 | 204.0 million | NOK 134.3 billion | 582,349 |
| 2025 | 209.9 million | NOK 135.2 billion | 575,228 |
The daily figures are averages over calendar days. That puts the average instant payment in 2025 at about NOK 644. Norges Bank says the largest share started in Vipps and was a payment between people. Since its 2023 figures it counts as instant only payments settled through NICS Real: an immediate transfer between two accounts at the same bank doesn't count [1].
How to use it
You don't sign up for NICS Real. It sits behind your bank and Vipps.
- Vipps. Norges Bank says most of Norway's instant payments start in Vipps, mostly as payments between people [1]. How Vipps works, and its codes, are on the Vipps QR page.
- Your online or mobile bank. If the payee's bank can take instant payments, you'll see an option such as "Benytt straksbetaling" when you set up the payment. Choose it and the money reaches the payee's account at once, at weekends too [22]. Ordinary payments to other banks wait for fixed times on weekdays: at Sbanken 00:05, 08:15, 10:00, 11:30, 13:30 and 14:30 [21]. The Nordic central banks estimated in November 2025 that 80–90 % of Norwegian bank customers could start an instant payment online [16].
- Receiving. You don't have to do anything. Every bank in NICS must be able to receive instant payments. On 1 January 2025 every bank was connected to NICS Real except Citibank and Lunar Bank [5]. NICS had 95 participating banks at the end of 2025 [2].
What happens underneath. Each bank settling directly at Norges Bank sets aside money in a special account in NBO for its instant payments; smaller banks get a limit (RealCAP) from the bank that settles for them. When you pay, NICS Real debits your bank's set-aside money at once and, as soon as the payee's bank accepts, credits the payee bank's. If the payee's bank doesn't accept, the money goes back to your bank, and a payment larger than your bank's set-aside money is rejected [8]. The banks then settle the net amounts in NBO five times each working day, at about 06:05, 09:50, 11:50, 13:50 and 15:50 [9]. You don't wait for those cycles: the payee's bank must make the money available to the payee immediately [10].
Limits, fees and hours
Hours. Instant payments arrive at once, weekends included [22], and the banks can top up their set-aside money at Norges Bank at any hour on any day while the systems are up [9]. Payments made between 15:35 on a working day and early the next working day are settled between the banks in the morning cycle, but the payee already has the money [9].
Limits. Since Straks 2.0 the scheme has had no NOK 500,000 cap [11], and we found no other scheme-wide maximum in Bits' rules. Your bank and Vipps set the limits that apply to you.
Fees. Bits charges the banks NOK 0.0354 for each NICS Real payment in 2026 (NOK 0.0343 in 2025), plus fixed yearly fees [15]. What you pay depends on your bank:
| Bank or service | Instant payment to another bank | Limit |
|---|---|---|
| Sbanken | Free [21] | Not stated |
| DNB | Free between DNB customers; NOK 75 to other banks for amounts over NOK 5,000; free for customers under 18. The price also applies when the payment goes through services such as Vipps and Trustly, which may add their own [19] | Not stated |
| SpareBank 1 Sør-Norge | Free under NOK 5,000, NOK 50 over (1 Jan 2026) [20] | Not stated |
| Handelsbanken | NOK 7.50 up to NOK 5,000, NOK 85 above; an ordinary payment to another bank is free [18] | Not stated |
| KLP Banken | NOK 10 a payment [22] | NOK 10,000 a payment, set because instant payments "are often used in fraud cases" |
| Vipps (between people) | Free, except 1 % of what you send above NOK 5,000 to the same person within 24 hours [23] | Over 15: send up to NOK 850,000 and receive up to NOK 700,000 in 365 days; under 15: NOK 25,000 and NOK 65,000 [24] |
Limits and fees change; check your bank's current terms.
Paying shops and businesses
Shops in Norway mostly don't take NICS Real payments. Norges Bank says that most payments in shops, by plastic card or phone, now go through the card networks, and that instant payments "may be additional payment options". It also says there are "few payment channels that use bank transfers, including those in real-time", and wants mobile-payment providers to offer more of them [3]. Paying a business in Vipps is free for you [23], but Vipps in shops usually runs on a card underneath (see Vipps QR).
Payment firms reach NICS Real through a bank. Since Straks 2.1, a payment started by a third party has to be sent from the payer's bank, which passes it to NICS Real [14]. DNB's price list names Vipps and Trustly as services through which its instant-payment fee can apply [19].
What's next, with dates. Norges Bank expects the EU Instant Payments Regulation to be written into Norwegian law. Settlement and payment systems would then have to admit payment and e-money institutions [3]. We found no date for that law as of 20 October 2026.
Paying across borders
- Kroner only, inside Norway. Bits' rules cover credit transfers in Norwegian kroner between banks that take part in NICS Real [10]. The Nordic Payments Council's list of 25 September 2026 shows participants in its instant scheme (NCT Inst) in Danish and Swedish kroner, but none in Norwegian kroner [17].
- The move to the Eurosystem's platform. Norges Bank's governor and ECB President Christine Lagarde signed an agreement on 28 November 2024 for Norges Bank to settle krone instant payments on the Eurosystem's instant-payment platform, which settles euro and Swedish kronor and was to add Danish kroner in spring 2025. Service was planned "in the first half of 2028" [4]. The new service is called NBO INST, and its project includes moving the existing participants off NICS Real. Norges Bank says it would make money transfers to and from other Nordic and European countries faster, and that cross-currency instant payments will be assessed [3].
- The timetable is open. In June 2026 Norges Bank said that the platform "will require more comprehensive adaptations than previously assumed", and that the plan is being revised with the ECB and the Norwegian banks [2]. We found no new go-live date as of 20 October 2026.
- Vipps abroad. Vipps lets you send to Vipps and MobilePay users in Sweden, Denmark and Finland, always in the receiver's currency, and the receiver needs a card chosen for receiving [29]. Sending abroad costs 4 % [23]. None of the sources we read says those payments use NICS Real.
Is there a NICS Real QR code in Norway?
No. NICS Real is a clearing system between banks, and nobody scans it. Its messages are ISO 20022: the payer's bank sends a pacs.008 customer credit transfer through NICS Real to the payee's bank, a pacs.002 reports a positive or negative status, and a pacs.028 asks for the status of a payment. The process follows the European Payments Council's SCT Inst rulebook, and the formats replaced the Norwegian NISOK and NIBE formats [13]. Every bank has used them since June 2023 [14]. The Nordic central banks note that Norwegian banks have started a project to phase out the other domestic formats in NICS [16].
The code you're most likely to scan before a payment reaches NICS Real is a Vipps code: a QR code holding a qr.vipps.no link that only the Vipps or MobilePay app accepts (NO report). Our MobilePay/Vipps QR standard page covers what is known of them.
The code on a Norwegian bill is not a picture at all: it's the KID number (KID standard), which you type into your online bank. In 2021 Bits listed support for KID in instant payments as a possible next step ("Straks 2.2"), "not decided" [13]. We found no later source saying it was introduced. A European QR standard for instant transfers exists (EN 18184), and SEPA invoices can carry an EPC QR code for euro transfers. None of the sources we read connects either one to NICS Real.
Safety: the "safe account" call
An instant payment can't be called back: once NICS Real credits the payee bank's set-aside money, "neither banks nor third parties" can revoke it [10]. Bits' rules let a bank correct only its own technical or human error, such as a wrong amount, and only within three working days [10]. KLP caps instant payments at NOK 10,000 for this reason: when payments go through at once, suspicious ones are harder to stop [22].
Banks and payment firms reported NOK 962 million lost to fraud through account transfers and cards in 2025, NOK 384 million of it through account transfers in the second half of the year [26]. Finans Norge says manipulation fraud, where you're talked into making the payment yourself, is growing fast, especially romance and investment fraud [27]. The common script is a call from someone posing as the police, your bank or Vipps, who says someone is taking out a loan in your name and you must move your savings to a "safe" account [25].
- Nobody real asks you to move money. Vipps, the police and your bank will never ask you to send money to a private person or a "safe account" [25].
- Never approve a BankID request you didn't start. Neither the bank nor the police will ask for your BankID password or one-time codes [28].
- Hang up and call back on the bank's, police's or Vipps's official number if you're unsure. If it has happened, contact your bank at once and report it to the police [25] [28].
NICS Real and the alternatives in Norway
| Way to pay | Best for | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Vipps (often NICS Real underneath) | Paying people, stalls, shops, online | Free between people up to NOK 5,000 a day to one person [23]; see Vipps QR |
| Instant payment from your bank (NICS Real) | Account-to-account payments that must arrive now, also at weekends | Free at some banks, NOK 50–85 above NOK 5,000 at others (table above) |
| Ordinary bank payment with KID (NICS Netto) | Bills, rent, salaries | Free in online banks; arrives at fixed times on weekdays [21]; see KID |
| Card (BankAxept or international) | Shops, online, travel | 3,309 million card payments in 2025, against 209.9 million instant payments [1]; see BankAxept |
Sources
- Norges Bank, "Retail payment services 2025" (web report), 10 Jun 2026. https://www.norges-bank.no/en/news-events/publications/retail-payment-services/retail-payment-services-2025/web-report-retail-payment-services-2025/
- Norges Bank, "Financial Infrastructure 2026" (web report), 10 Jun 2026. https://www.norges-bank.no/en/news-events/publications/Financial-Infrastructure-Report/financial-infrastructure-2026/web-report-financial-infrastructure-2026/
- Norges Bank, "Financial Infrastructure 2025" (web report), 4 Jun 2025. https://www.norges-bank.no/en/news-events/publications/Financial-Infrastructure-Report/finansiell-infrastruktur-2025/web-report-financial-infrastructure-2025/
- Norges Bank, "Norges Bank signs instant payment settlement agreement with the ECB", 29 Nov 2024. https://www.norges-bank.no/en/news-events/news/Press-releases/2024/2024-11-29-tips/
- Bits, "Straksbetalinger", updated 8 Apr 2025, read 20 Oct 2026. https://bits.no/bank/straksbetalinger/
- Bits, "Straks-betalinger" (English site), 19 May 2016. https://bits.no/en/bank/straksbetalinger/
- Bits, "NICS", updated 22 Aug 2024, read 20 Oct 2026. https://bits.no/en/nics/
- Bits, "Regler for avregning og oppgjør av transaksjoner som inngår i NICS" (NICS rules, version of 1 Sep 2025, PDF), 22 May 2025 (PDF creation date). https://www.bits.no/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/NICS-Regler-for-avregning-og-oppgjor-NICS-reglene-01.09.2025.pdf
- Bits, "Vedlegg 1: Driftsmønster for NICS" (version of 1 Sep 2025, PDF), 23 May 2025 (PDF creation date). https://www.bits.no/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/NICS-reglene-Vedlegg-1-Driftsmonster-for-NICS-01.09.2025-1.pdf
- Bits, "Regler om straksbetalinger med sikkert oppgjør" (amended 14 Feb 2023, PDF), 13 Apr 2023 (PDF creation date). https://bits.no/document/regler-om-straksbetalinger-med-sikkert-oppgjor-endret-14-02-2023-3
- Bits, "Rundskriv 12/2019: Realtidsbetalinger i Norge – Oppstart av pilot og utrulling av Straks 2.0-løsningen", 16 Dec 2019. https://bits.no/document/bits-rundskriv-nr-12-2019-realtidsbetalinger-i-norge-oppstart-av-pilot-og-utrulling-av-straks-2-0-losningen
- Bits, "Rundskriv 5/2020: Straksbetalinger – Løsningsbeskrivelse på Straks 2.1 (ISO 20022)", 20 May 2020. https://bits.no/document/rundskriv-5-20-losningsbeskrivelse-straks-2-1
- Bits, "Straks 2.1 informasjonsmøte" (slides), 23 Mar 2021. https://bits.no/document/straks-2-1-informasjonsmote-2021-03-23-3
- Bits, "Rundskriv 12-2023: Straksbetalinger – Status prosjekt Straks 2.1 og oppgjør for utvidet bruk av Straks FOI", 6 Sep 2023. https://bits.no/document/bits-rundskriv-2023-nr12-straksbetalinger-status-prosjekt-straks-2-1-og-oppgjor-for-utvidet-bruk-av-straks-foi-3
- Bits, "Prisliste NICS 2026" (PDF), 28 Nov 2025 (PDF creation date). https://www.bits.no/wp-content/uploads/2025/12/NICS-Priser-2026-.pdf
- Danmarks Nationalbank, Suomen Pankki, Seðlabanki Íslands, Norges Bank and Sveriges Riksbank, "Payments in the Nordics" (PDF), 10 Dec 2025 (PDF creation date). https://www.nationalbanken.dk/media/gdlhtpyk/payments-in-the-nordics.pdf
- Nordic Payments Council, "List of NPC Scheme Participants 2026-09-25" (NCT Inst, PDF), 25 Sep 2026. https://www.nordicpaymentscouncil.org/media/3gagbm2f/2026-09-25-nct-inst-scheme-participants.pdf
- Handelsbanken, "Prisliste betaling innland", read 20 Oct 2026. https://www.handelsbanken.no/no/privat/prislister/prisliste-betaling-innland
- DNB, "Prisliste dagligbank", read 20 Oct 2026. https://www.dnb.no/dagligbank/priser
- SpareBank 1 Sør-Norge, "Gebyropplysningsskjema" (betalingskonto), 1 Jan 2026. https://www.sparebank1.no/content/dam/SB1/bank/sor-norge/vilkar/Gebyropplysningsskjema.pdf
- Sbanken, "Betale", read 20 Oct 2026. https://sbanken.no/bruke/betale
- KLP, "Straksbetaling", read 20 Oct 2026. https://www.klp.no/bank/konto-og-betaling/betale-og-overfore/straksbetaling
- Vipps, "Priser i Vipps", read 20 Oct 2026. https://vipps.no/privat-priser
- Vipps MobilePay, "Hva er beløpsgrensene i Vipps?" (help centre), read 20 Oct 2026. https://help.vippsmobilepay.com/nb-NO/articles/what-are-the-amount-limits
- Vipps, "Sikkerhet i Vipps", read 20 Oct 2026. https://vipps.no/sikkerhet
- Finanstilsynet, "Svindelstatistikk andre halvår 2025", 4 May 2026. https://www.finanstilsynet.no/nyhetsarkiv/nyheter/2026/svindelstatistikk-andre-halvar-2025
- Finans Norge, "Tiltakene virker – bankenes arbeid mot svindel gir resultater", 19 Feb 2026. https://www.finansnorge.no/artikler/2026/02/tiltakene-virker--bankenes-arbeid-mot-svindel-gir-resultater/
- Finans Norge, "Nå må personer med tilgang til bedriftskontoer være ekstra på vakt", 19 Aug 2026. https://www.finansnorge.no/artikler/2026/08/na-ma-personer-med-tilgang-til-bedriftskontoer-vare-ekstra-pa-vakt
- Vipps, "Vippse til utlandet", read 20 Oct 2026. https://vipps.no/vippse-til-utlandet
Researched 20 October 2026. Limits and bank offerings change; the banks' own pages are authoritative.